In this darkest hour, Hera supports Ukraine and the Ukrainian people.

By Alison MacDermott

Posted: 4 March, 2022

HERA, as the European Network of 26 funding agencies over 25 partner countries, has always supported the solidarity, cooperation and mutual understating of cultural diversity in Europe. Through its funded projects in the humanities, HERA cares for common European values, such as freedom, democracy, equality and justice. Therefore, HERA wants to express its shock and dismay at the outbreak of a brutal war in Europe and condemn Russia’s military aggression against independent Ukraine. HERA stands in solidarity with the citizens of Ukraine who are showing exceptional dignity, courage and resilience in their struggle to preserve the sovereignty and integrity of their state.


. . .


Please see information from the MSA on how national funding partners and host institutions can support Memory Scholars at Risk. Please share this information within your networks.

Dear colleagues,

The Memory Studies Association offers funds for two fellowships of 4000 € each to support memory scholars at risk. The MSA is looking for institutions across the world that would like to provide a place of academic refuge including matching funds or equivalent in-kind assistance. Such institutions can contact scholars at risk known to them or seek advice from the MSA, which is collecting information on colleagues needing support. While the MSA is currently able to offer two fellowships, it is continuing efforts to raise more funds for additional fellowships.

General rules of the application:

  1. The host institution names an MSA Fellow.
  2. The host institution is expected to facilitate the integration of the MSA Fellow into the local academic community.
  3. The host institution delegates a senior or mid-career scholar to work with the MSA Fellow as a liaison.
  4. The two scholars are encouraged to co-write an article or co-produce any different kind of output together, such as a grant application, that might strengthen the international academic position of the MSA Fellow.
  5. The host institution is expected to provide affiliation, working space, and housing as well as help in visa, health insurance and other formal arrangements.
  6. The length of the fellowship is a minimum of two months, although the MSA encourages a longer stay. A collaboration of two or more academic institutions from the same city or country might help this purpose.

Applications not exceeding 3000 words in total should contain the following:

  1. a description of the perilous situation of the proposed Fellow;
  2. a description of the memory related project to be carried out by the proposed Fellow;
  3. information on the support provided by the hosting institution, including the dates of the scholarship;
  4. short bios of the memory scholar in peril and the liaison scholar.

To help scholars at peril, we encourage the liaison scholar to fill out the application.

The application (one document in pdf) should be sent by 30 April 2022 to the following email address:

The MSA Fellowship Committee consists of: Sarah Gensburger (CNRS, Paris), Jie-Hyun Lim (Sogang University, Seoul), Kateřina Králová (Charles University Prague), Ann Rigney (University of Utrecht), Aline Sierp (Maastricht University), Joanna Wawrzyniak (University of Warsaw), Jenny Wüstenberg (Nottingham Trent University)

Should you have further questions please contact Joanna Wawrzyniak at

Call for Donations

The Memory Studies Association is organizing a fund to support memory scholars at risk. The fund will co-sponsor fellowships in hosting institutions across the world. Please consider donating any amount you can to help our colleagues whose lives and careers are at risk.

Please use the following account details:

Memory Studies Association
IBAN: NL94 ABNA 0247 8551 11

Please add “Scholars in peril donation” in the title of your transfer.

Many thanks for your consideration and support!
Best wishes,

Sarah Gensburger, Jeffrey Olick, Aline Sierp, Jenny Wüstenberg

Jelena Dureinovic, Catherine Gilbert, Sang-Hyun Kim, Magdalena Saryusz-Wolska, Hanna Teichler, Joanna Wawrzyniak
Executive Committee

Our use of cookies

We use necessary cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set optional analytics cookies to help us improve it. We won't set these optional cookies unless you enable them. Using this tool will set a cookie on your device to remember your preferences.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our Cookies page

Necessary cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us to improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone.